Writing Practice: Short Poems

11063745_1394956697497972_3416290683670040072_n
My favorite page and line of the book.

As a part of my “End of the School Year” resolution, I have decided to start working on writing as a daily practice. I started reading Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within by Natalie Goldberg and I love it. If you’re looking for a book to read on creative writing, try this one. It is fabulous.

In the book, Goldberg gives a sort of prompt for practicing writing poems:

Try this: write a series of ten short poems. You only have three minutes to write each one; each one must be three lines. Begin each one with a title that you choose from something your eye falls on…

So here are a few of the poems I wrote:

Sugar

Sweet Crystals

A spoonful to a cup of tea

you remind me of sunrise


Coffee

You like yours black as ink

I like mine with a little cream

You don’t let me drink anymore


Pencil

I prefer lead to ink

I don’t want to see my mistakes

I know I’m wrong


Ramen

20 cents worth of nothing

sitting on the shelf

my last resort


Pen

I’ll learn to write

with you

someday

image1
Natalie’s book and my notebook.

Leave a comment